Erskine

Some bridges lead nowhere.

Weighing in at just under 7,000 words, ‘If you’re done’ is definitely classed as a short story.

By way of a backstory, I’d already written ‘Skin Deeper’ and ‘My Constant Moon’ that year, and in the warm afterglow of the reception that the latter had received, I wanted to to write again. I wanted to do something different.

Spoiler alert: if you aren’t familiar with the story, you might want to read it before you proceed.

Lizzy Bennet has previously outed me as a Terry Pratchett fan, and she’s more-or-less correct: I have other influences, of course, although you might think I’d read nothing else if you’ve read the ‘The Natural and Inevitable Transmogrification of Dronekk the Dwarf’ (although, at this point in time, few have seen that one…)

For my money, the pinnacle of Pratchettness was achieved with ‘Mort’, the fourth Discworld novel. Certain bits and pieces after that were nice to have, but Mort stood head and shoulders (skull and collarbones?) above the rest. And within that highly amusing book, one piece stuck in my mind: the notion that people get the afterlife that they think they deserve.

Thus, Pratchett has a pseudo- Dalai Lama character who quite looks forward to nine months of R&R in the womb, each time he’s reincarnated, and others who face oblivion, or go on to haunt the battlements of castles until the end of time… et cetera. That’s a significant influence on what happens in ‘If you’re done’, I have to admit.

If there is such a thing as an afterlife, what better system than one in which you get to choose your own? I can think of only one form of l’apres-vie that is more intriguing, and that’s the one espoused by Victoria Wood in a song called ‘I Want to be Everyone’: for reincarnation on an ambitious scale where it appears that you get to lead every single person’s life, once.

I acknowledge that I write a little too often about suicide. Perhaps it’s not always been quite as unthinkable as it ought to be… but they say you should write what you know, so perhaps I was on home ground.

When the ghostly gender dysphoric boy who never quite crossed over meets the girl who’s on the brink of suicide for reasons of her own, he asks her a difficult question: “Your body: if you’re done with it … can I have it?”

I think the synopsis I wrote for Fictionmania put a lot of people off. Two years on, it’s still only got 2,000 views, which makes it my least popular story. Well bugger them if they can’t take a joke: that’s what I say. Bugrit. Millennium hand and shrimp…

Author: bryonymarsh

I’m here on Wordpress to self-actualise as a part-time author. I think everyone has a few good stories to tell!

5 thoughts on “Erskine”

  1. I’m also a Pratchett fan, but there’s other fine stuff out there after Mort. Death is a great character in the Discworld novels, but he’s not the only one. The witches, the watch and even Moist Von Lipwig all have their moments.

    Interestingly enough I have a ghostly character in my new novel that has not passed over who hangs around (rather than haunts) her boyfriend. I’ve tried to keep it light hearted for the most part, but I just wrote quite an emotional scene for her.

    As to FM numbers, I wouldn’t worry. 2,000 is about my average for reader numbers but it can vary a great deal. You write what you want to write and if others enjoy it then that’s just a bonus.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m doubtless being mean to T.P., suggesting that he peaked with this forth book. For one thing, I suspect I’ve only read half of the (forty-one!) Discworld novels. It’s not just about the books, though: it’s about the reader. I became aware of ‘The Colour of Magic’ and ‘Mort’ at a time when they were the just what I wanted to read. (You can only sustain Douglas Adams fandom for so long, because you run out of books so quickly…)

      I agree that there are lots more good ones. I loved the downtrodden Captain Vimes… but Mort will always have a special place in my bookshelf, and heart. Later books such as ‘Reaper Man’ exhibit that subtle not-quite-rightness that afflicts all too many sequels, in my opinion.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. One further observation… I think that the moment when I realised that Terry Pratchett had to be a genius was when I read:

        “He was tall, red-haired and freckled, with the sort of body that seems to be only marginally under its owner’s control; it appeared to have been built out of knees.”

        A quarter of a century on, this still makes me laugh.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. “When the ghostly gender dysphoric boy who never quite crossed over meets the girl who’s on the brink of suicide for reasons of her own, he asks her a difficult question: “Your body: if you’re done with it … can I have it?” ”

    So ‘e ended up in ‘er skin…

    Like

Leave a comment

witness2fashion

Sharing the History of Everyday Fashions

Lifelong Education Blog Latest Posts

An Inclusive Site Dedicated to Life-Long Learning

Beyond Ourselves

Writing & Thoughts by Liam Slade

Look From The Other Side

A place to share my thoughts and opinions on Quality Trandsgendered Fiction from Samantha Ann Donaldson

Adventures in TG Fiction

A blog about TG Fiction written by Katerina Hellam (Also known as SuperHellKitten)