Aunt Ashley, explained

(If anybody can explain Aunt Ashley…)

As with all of the blog posts in the category ‘My Stories’, this contains spoilers, and shouldn’t be read until you’ve finished the associated story… in this case ‘Summer with Aunt Ashley’.

Some time ago, Christina and I were lamenting the fact that so many trans- themed stories are formulaic almost to the point of parody… only without intending to be funny.

This was a job for the…
TropebustersWell, why not? Sacred cows make the best burgers.

“I’m almost tempted to write a story that begins with a classic TG theme, but where nothing at all happens,” I said to Christina.

“Do eet,” she replied – or words to that effect.

So I did. It took a long time: a couple of months before it was ready to share. Before that, I sought out help from other fans of tranny fiction, asking what were the most clichéd elements in TG stories. This furnished me with details such as the dance, and the business of instantly being able to walk in heels… but (as you will know if you’ve been a good girl and read the story before you read this) there is a twist: none of the transgender stuff that is hinted at happens to the central character. This despite his deliberately gender-ambiguous name, Jordan Kelly (a name so clichéd that one of my friends also had a story in draft that employed it…)

Thus we have the airline mix-up where loads of people lose their luggage, but not him; the frilly apron and the French maid’s outfit that he doesn’t end up wearing; the aunt who wants to feminise him… and fails utterly.

It’s not a very popular story on Fictionmania, but it amused me to write it.

Somewhere along the way it acquired a sci-fi backstory, allowing me to wrap things up more-or-less neatly at the end. I hope you’ll let me know what you thought of it.

Most of all, I simply hope that you’ll forgive me.

Author: bryonymarsh

I’m here on Wordpress to self-actualise as a part-time author. I think everyone has a few good stories to tell!

One thought on “Aunt Ashley, explained”

  1. Depends on what you mean popular – Lots of reads? Lots of comments? I find the numbers on FM quite bizarre at times. I will have a whole series of stories and one in the middle will get less reads than the story either side even though its an ongoing story.

    Oh and Bryony – I forgive you 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

witness2fashion

Sharing the History of Everyday Fashions

Lifelong Education Blog Latest Posts

An Inclusive Site Dedicated to Life-Long Learning

Beyond Ourselves

Writing & Thoughts by Liam Slade

Look From The Other Side

A place to share my thoughts and opinions on Quality Trandsgendered Fiction from Samantha Ann Donaldson

Adventures in TG Fiction

A blog about TG Fiction written by Katerina Hellam (Also known as SuperHellKitten)